The EU-Australia Leadership Forum has concluded

The EU-Australia Leadership Forum was launched in September 2016 and concluded in early 2020. The Forum was a unique project in the EU's suite of public diplomacy actions and demonstrated a shared commitment to the already strong bilateral relationship. The Forum's overall objective was to broaden and deepen the existing ties and in so doing, help shape the vision for the partnership, based on the future EU-Australia Framework Agreement and forthcoming EU-Australia Free Trade Agreement.

The core of the project was the EU-Australia Senior Leaders Forum, a high level event that was held annually, alternately in Australia and in Europe. This forum brought together key European and Australian leaders from Government and Opposition, business, media, education and civil society. It provided input and ideas to diversify and intensify the relationship in key areas.

More information

Multi-Stakeholder Steering Committee

  • Mr Luis Alvarado Martinez
    European Youth Forum
  • Mr Tim Costello AO FAIIA
    Chief Advocate
    World Vision Australia
  • The Hon Nick Greiner AC
    European Australian Business Council
  • Mr Peter Jennings PSM
    Executive Director
    Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • Mr Pascal Kerneis
    Managing Director
    European Services Forum
  • Mr Pascal Lamy
    President Emeritus
    Jacques Delors Institute
  • Mr Christian Leffler
    Deputy Secretary General
    Economic and Global Issues European External Action Service
  • Mr Ross McInnes
    French Special Representative for economic relations with Australia
    Chairman of the Board of Safran
  • Dr Robin Niblett CMG
    Chatham House
  • His Excellency Dr Michael Pulch
    Chair of the Multi-Stakeholder Steering Committee
    EU Ambassador to Australia
  • Ms Catherine Raper
    First Assistant Secretary, Europe and Latin America Division
    Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Ms Laura Tingle
    Chief Political Correspondent
    Australian Broadcasting Corporation (7.30)
  • Mr Herman Van Rompuy
    European Policy Centre
  • Mr Peter Varghese AO
    University of Queensland
  • Ms Jennifer Westacott
    Chief Executive
    Business Council of Australia